Temper Tantrums question

Hi! I am brand new here but am very thankful to have been invited to join. I have a degree in child development (from way back in 95) and have provided in-hone child care for over 20 years but am coming with a question as a grandma. I have a grandson who is turning one on Thursday but was a preemie, born at 30 weeks. He is doing amazing and meeting all milestones. The concern is he has started throwing temper tantrums where he bangs his head on the ground. I know this is not uncommon but it’s scary to watch. My daughter thinks we need to let him throw his tantrums but I think we should redirect him so he stops and doesn’t hurt himself. I would love your suggestions and guidance. He also likes to throw himself backwards, both while being held and when on the floor.

Hi! I joined this community a while ago and it really great, I’m sure you’ll love it.

Im sure that is really scary to watch, I haven’t dealt personally with tantrums that lead to head banging, but I believe I heard that its important to make sure that the child is in a safe place-maybe transfer to a crib or leave a playpen in the living area so you can let him work through the tantrum. I feel like at 12 months its hard to talk through the tantrum as you might be able to with an older child.

1 Like

Thank you so much for joining our community! I do agree with @itsmeserena that at just 1 it may be hard to redirect in the tantrum and that making sure he’s in a safe place where he can’t hurt himself is important. Does he seem to respond to any singing or if you give him a lovey or pacifier? Is there anything you have tried that works?

@Drkarenweiss do you have any ideas to share?

1 Like