Dysregulation & dyspraxia in toddler

Hi! I am a new grad EI OT. I am suspicious that a kiddo on my caseload has dyspraxia and am planning to submit a referral for the child development clinic in my area to seek confirmation/diagnosis/etc. The child is 21 months… but super dysregulated. I want to try challenging motor planning in a controlled way but I can’t get this child to do anything other than run (full of stumbles). No purposeful play. The only play really is “chase” which is meeting this child where their at for sure… any tips on regulating this child so I’m best able to access them during a motor plan challenge/obstacle course would be very helpful. This child appears to only have one speed (fast!!) and will run on all surfaces with no regard for safety (uphill on asphalt, down hill on rocks, etc). Needless to say, this child stumbles and falls quite frequently which is very stressful for Mom. This child is best described as pinball - back and forth constantly with little to no functional play. This child HAS the gross motor skills expected at this age, but does not use them functionally at all… and has no more refined play skills/ability to sustain attention.
Happy to answer any further questions to paint a better picture :slight_smile:

Hey there! He seems to be a bit of a sensory seeker, although the input never satisfies him. Why do you think he has dyspraxia? I would want to observe him on the playground. Does he know to go up the ladder and down the slide? Does he seem to have a plan for his play or will he only run around in circles? Does he do any sort of gross motor imitation like touching his head or tapping his knees? Will he tolerate vestibular input on the swing or does he prefer to keep his feet on the ground?

I have a lot of questions, sorry! :slight_smile:

1 Like

And I would definitely see if I could use linear swinging and deep pressure to see if that would help him regulate!

1 Like