Delayed crawling

Hello! Fellow OT here, looking for some collaboration on my son (8.5 mo old) who doesn’t like being in 4 point positioning and hasn’t started crawling. However, he will be on his tummy with upper extremities extended (weight bearing) for a significant period of time and can spin 360 multiple times with reciprocal UE pattern. He also prefers to be sitting or wants to walk everywhere with hands held. He will tall kneel at stairs/pillows, etc. but when I position him in 4 pt he usually falls forward onto his face as if his arms give out (STNR?). As an OT and first time mom I probably am putting more pressure on myself for him to hit these milestones but also know how important crawling is for development! Thanks so much for sharing all the content you do!

1 Like

Hey!

I’m not a physical professional but my son does the same and goes to PT/OT monthly. Yes, the four point is preferred and we too are doing exercises for it daily, but I was informed simply crawling in any form (including worm or army) by 9 months is what is desired. Four point can come after, ideally shortly after, but they still have time!

When we do our four point exercises I have to physically hold his hips together the entire time or else he will flop downward. Best way so far for me to do this is using a couch cushion for his upper half to rest on and play with toys and then I hold his hips and gently rock him back while doing four point. Using a ball under the belly also helps!

1 Like

Hi @Hil_wil, welcome!!

@CmamaRoss is right! Using a couch cushion to provide a slight incline for the shoulders/arms can help get some beneficial weight bearing through the hips and lower extremities.

Another position I like to try with babies is weight bearing over my thigh (a natural bolster :wink:). My thigh gives support to the trunk to help with weight bearing through the shoulders and hips.