18 month old tantrum/hitting

Hi everyone,

I’m a pediatric occupational therapist and also first time mom. I work with elementary school kids so everything with my toddler is new! I saw the post yesterday about tantrums and I am in the same boat- I’m at a loss. My son will be 18 months old next week. Obviously because of covid he unfortunately isn’t around other kids often. The past few months every time he is around a child around his age he smacks them in the face or bite them. We tell him how we don’t hurt other children etc… but every chance he gets he does it. Lately he also has been banging his head on the floor or crib where if something happens that he does not necessary get what he wants he does it- it seems like he’s looking for a reaction from us. I immediately stop him from hurting himself. ( if we put him to bed he might hang his head or if I’m in the kitchen and I can’t pick him up or if I’m in my office working I hear him banging on my door with his head!!) I’m at a loss, it breaks my heart and I don’t know how he learned this behavior . To add he isn’t very verbal for 18 months so I’m hoping speech is a big factor and we are planning to send him to daycare next month. He says maybe ~10 words. he is so smart though. He has amazing receptive skills- follows 1-2 step directions. Its hard for me to not understand how he doesn’t get us explaining to him how biting/hitting other kids is not okay because he soaks in everything we say. Any advice or virtual hugs!

1 Like

Hey @OTmommam, welcome!